What is Boccia?

Boccia is a disability sport that tests muscle control and accuracy. Players propel balls to land close to a target ball. Two sides compete as individuals, pairs or as a team of three over a set number of ends. Each side has six balls (red or blue) each end to try and score points. Points are accumulated over the course of a match to find a winner. The sport is played indoors on a 12.5m by 6m court, usually in a sports hall but any suitable flat playing area can be used.

Not as simple as it sounds

It is easy to get started, but the tactics of the sport offer both tension and excitement as the game plays out. A ball can be rolled, thrown or kicked. If a player is unable to throw or kick the ball, they can use a ramp. If players are unable to release the ball with their hands, they can use assistive devices – head/hand pointer.

Embed following video onto page

Get involved in Boccia

Take BOCCIA to the next level and start competing!

Heathcoat cup – Get in the Game

The Heathcoat Cup is an exciting competition for all impairment groups and is open to players with a wide range of disabilities.

It is perfect for players wanting to start or further their individual competition experience.

Come along and take part in your local event here –

Use the Boccia England club-finder tool and start playing today!

To find out more about the competitions in England, the classification for boccia, coaching, officiating and other ways to get involved in the sport have a look at the Boccia England website.